The day the CCHA died

The CCHA was laid to rest today

Though the Big 10 officially announced its intention to start a hockey conference on March 21, 2011, today was the day the patient called the CCHA finally succumbed to its mortal wounds.

The news came earlier this afternoon the CCHA’s left-behinds Bowling Green, Alaska-Fairbanks, Lake Superior, Ferris State and Western Michigan were extended an invitation to join the WCHA beginning with the 2013-14 season. That means, the 40 year old league will in all likelihood conclude play with one final Mason Cup Tournament championship in March 2013.

It appears the only things left in the air are whether Bowling Green and Western Michigan actually accept the WCHA’s invitation. While Western is more likely than Bowling Green to receive an invitation to the newly formed NCHC, neither or both could be invited pending “The Decision” from Notre Dame on where their hockey future lies — with the NCHC, Hockey East or as an independent.

College Hockey News has the latest.


Posted on August 25, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: